Beading, Jewelry, Pattern Projects

Pattern Project: Beaded Bead

IMG_1877

Yo dawg, I heard you like beads so I made a bead of beads so you can bead while you bead.

Yup, I’ve created incepti-bead. Well technically Beadaholique created it as one of their wonderful beading DIY videos. If you are a beader – especially a bead weaver – their DIY’s are just perfect. Check out the video tutorial for this lovely project, made using bicone crystals and a right angle weave. Move on past the jump for more photos and my thoughts on the project.

IMG_1874

I chose some nice 4mm bicone Swarovkis in black since I literally only wear black. As you can see from the photo, the weave is a simple right angle weave, not unlike the flower chains you may have made with seed beads in middle school. Maybe that’s a dated reference. Idk do the kids still do that or do they just make flower chains on their iphones?

. . .

What was I saying?

Oh yes – you’ll also need some fireline thread which, if you haven’t used it before, is AMAZING for bead weaving. it has the non-fraying plasticity of fishing line with the flexibility of thread. Just lovely. The thread works best with big eye needles, another tool which is completely worth your money. In the end all this stuff (enough to make about 8 beads) cost close to 40 dollars. The cost was mostly in the beads, so you could easily use a less precious material or a non-bicone bead. Note, however, that it doesn’t work well with beads that are not symmetrical, for example seed beads.

IMG_1875

The instructions in the video are quite clear and easy to follow, so I don’t feel the need to reiterate them here, however make sure to follow them closely! It seems like a wash and repeat pattern but it actually isn’t. If you put your string through the wrong number of beads once or twice it’ll look all deflated and sad. After one or two you’ll be able to determine these things by yourself, however.

Something the video didn’t go into that I find somewhat crucial is the final step – weaving the thread back in. The video suggests tying a half-hitch knot, then weaving the string in a bit and cutting it off. I found, however, that my beads weren’t as tight as I wanted them to be. As a result, I made the choice to go back through each ring of the bead and tie a tight knot each time. In some cases where the beads were still loose, I would even go back in a third time. You’ll end up having lots of knots and having to weave in a lot of string, but if you use the size bead and string length they recommend you’ll have plenty to work with. Plus, the knots don’t show with fireline, so you can make as many as you want. Basically, weave and knot until the bead is as tight as you like it.

IMG_1876

That’s about it, they each take maybe 15 – 20 minutes to make, depending on how much you weave the thread back in. It’s a really calming project and the beads come out just gorgeous. The only thing is I’m not sure what to do with them. I was thinking of hanging one or two from a gold chain with some charms and selling them on Etsy as pretty flapper drop necklaces, what  do you guys think? Let me know!

I hope you guys have fun beading while you bead, I’ll be back with more thrift DIY this week! In the meantime,

Keep Conquering!

Standard

Leave a Reply

