Pattern Project: Puff Ball Bookmarks and Balling Your Yarn

27 Jan

Well this is my first official post, YAY! I decided to start with something simple but still really interesting, and was instantly drawn to a pattern by Gabrielle Blair (aka Design Mom) for “Yarn Ball Bookmarks.” The link for the DIY is super simple that even an older child could find heads of it. Find it here: Design Mom

In working on this project I wanted to use a lovely red/brown/orange skein I bought in Arizona last winter on a visit, but as is usually the case with skeins, I can never figure out how to use them without making a huge mess. I usually ball skeins for ease of use, so I’m gonna share how I ball my yarn here.

Image

Generally with a skein the first thing to do is lay it out in a large area. While unraveling it the skein often likes to get tangled, so laying it out will help prevent much of this. While you unravel, make sure to keep the skein more or less in an open loop to prevent tangles. Some tangles are inevitable, but be diligent and you can prevent them.

Image

Find the end (this may take awhile) and place the end in your hand. Wrap the yarn around your fingers 7 or 8 times.

ImageImage

Next, pull the loops carefully off and fold in half to make a smaller loop, then wrap the yarn end around the loops two or three times to secure them.

Image

Image

Now begin to wrap the yarn around the loops, using them as the center of your ball. It’ll be a bit tricky at first, but keep wrapping until it begins to resemble a ball, shifting where you wrap every now and then to maintain the ball shape.

Image

While you’re wrapping, especially in the early stages, a loop may slip loose. Don’t worry about trying to fix it, just wrap over the loop and continue making your ball.

Image

And that’s about it! Just keep on wrapping! As you go if the yarn line goes in the skein, just weave the ball through the yarn to prevent tangling. Don’t just tug if it gets caught, because you WILL make a big tangle and then it will take you hours to undo. I have been there so many times, trust me. It’s better to be careful and undo any tangles as you wrap, even if it take a little more time at first. Once you have a ball you can throw it in a basket or ball holder to keep it from rolling while you work. I actually may do a tutorial in the future for a ball holder. Image

So after all that I was ready to go ahead and made the Pattern Project. Since this is a thick spiraled yarn, the puff ended up being much larger than the examples on Gabrielle’s blog. I could have trimmed it down more to make a tighter puff, but I ended up liking the larger puff as I tend to read big books and it looks neat sticking out the top. To compensate I also doubled the end string, which also makes it a bit stronger. Image

I think I’ll make some more of these, They’re so simple and yet so nice. The tutorial also shows you how to make a basic pom-pom, which has infinite uses. I’m not sure pom-poms really work for anyone over the age of 6 with my personal style, but they sure are fun to make, so we’ll see! Image

Bonus: who can guess what book I have this in????? What a mystery!

(Its Lord of the Rings)

I hope you guys liked my first post! I’d love feedback about what I can do better, or how totally awesome at blogging I am or what you liked, so please comment! Thanks for reading!

7 Responses to “Pattern Project: Puff Ball Bookmarks and Balling Your Yarn”

  1. alliscorner January 27, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    Awesome start to your blogging journey. I look forward to following your adventures. I am new as well, and hope to get into my crafting soon to add to my blog. Great breakdown of the craft and how you did it.

  2. bottes pas cher fille January 29, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    I seriously love your website.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself? Please
    reply back as I’m wanting to create my own blog and would love to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Cheers!

  3. Records Search January 29, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    How come I never thought of that?

  4. http://tinyurl.com/ April 15, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    Hello, the whole thing is going nicely here and ofcourse every one
    is sharing information, that’s truly good, keep up writing.

  5. faqih.id-fb.com May 17, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

    Having looked at this I thought it was quite informative.
    . I take joy in you finding the time to put this
    content up. I once again find myself personally wasting a bit too much time
    both reading and/or commenting. Absolutely worth the
    time, regardless.

  6. customized running gifts February 21, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

    Hi, I cheeck your blog daily. Your humoristic style is witty,
    keep itt up!

  7. metrum April 30, 2014 at 1:53 am #

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or
    copyright violation? My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either
    authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of
    it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization.

    Do you know any solutions to help prevent content from being
    stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

